Recovering from Moving with Chicken Breast and Corn Stew

I hate moving.

I know in the scheme of problems to have, moving is not high. Like, I’m lucky the regular aches and pains of moving are my only major problems right now. But I am just so tired of it. Since I couldn’t justify paying movers to do it for me ($1000 for five pieces of furniture? Really?), I’ve been slowly schlepping stuff up to Providence for the past few weeks. My New Haven apartment is getting emptier and emptier. We move the five pieces of furniture on Thursday.

But I just ache. Lots of heavy lifting, packing, unpacking, running around, driving back and forth and back and forth. My body hurts. My mind hurts.

So warm, so filling, so healthy.

So warm, so filling, so healthy.

I wanted something soothing, something warm and comfortable that would warm up the dampness that has settled over all of New Englad. So Angus and I made a Chicken Breast and Corn Stew. Oh my. Marvelous. Definitely a Sunday prep-for-the-week type of deal, but so worth it.

Chicken Breast and Corn Stew (makes about 8 servings; freezes well)

Active Time: 30 min

Prep Time: about 6 hours

Ingredients

  • 3 medium chicken breasts (no skin, off the bone; about 1.5 lbs)
  • about 1/4c flour of choice (you know I used whole wheat, but it can be a gluten-free one if you want)
  • 3 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 4c chicken broth
  • spices of choice (we used 1 smashed garlic clove, 1 bay leaf [removed at end], thyme, cumin, and tarragon)
  • 2c fingerling potatoes, sliced in half
  • 28oz can whole, peeled tomatoes, drained and rinsed, chopped
  • about 25oz cannelini beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1/2c frozen corn

1. Heat the oil over high heat. Lightly flour the chicken breasts and pan-fry each one until browned on each side. They should not be cooked through.

2. Transfer the chicken breasts to the bottom of a slow cooker. Place the potatoes on top. Deglaze the frying pan with about 1/2c chicken broth. Decant that broth and the remaining broth into the slow cooker. Add spices, as desired (I honestly couldn’t taste any of them by the end, but they may make a difference which is why I included them). Cook on low for four hours, covered.

3. Microwave the frozen corn for about 45 seconds and drain any additional fluid, if necessary.

4. After four hours, add in the beans, corn, and tomatoes. Switch heat to high and continue to cook for two hours.

5. If necessary, add a few tablespoons of flour, corn starch, or arrowroot to thicken the broth.

Get a load of that garlic clove ;)

Get a load of that garlic clove ;)

Between the chicken, beans, and potatoes, this stew kept me FULL. Traditional chicken stews call for chicken thighs so that the fat will melt off and add some flavor. But this chicken was very tender and the stew was not lacking flavor at all. We froze the extra stew in little aliquots in freezer bags.

If you omit the beans and choose an appropriate flour, this stew would be paleo, yes?

Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. Mmmmm . . . it does look like the perfect warming, comfort meal for this time of year! I’m not a big fan of white potatoes. I wonder if turnips would work as a replacement . . .

    Reply
  2. That soup looks so dreamy :P It’s going on my to try list :) Hope you rest up and feel better :)

    Reply
  3. yum! I need to make soup/stew soon! I’m not sure if corn is paleo, or white potatoes.. but looks go either way!!

    Reply
    • but corn and potatoes are both vegetables! starchy vegetables but still vegetables.

      Technically the USDA counts french fries and ketchup as vegetables, which is why it looks like Americans eat more veggies than they do.

      Reply
      • mmm french fries are veggies! Looks like I’m having a “salad” tomorrow! With a side of chicken sandwich! :D

  4. That stew looks so warm and homey.

    I hate moving SO MUCH. It’s definitely one of the worst things ever. Are you almost finished? I hope you’re almost finished.

    One of the few good things, though, is that it really motivates me to get rid of things that I don’t need or that I’m tired of hauling around.

    Reply
  5. gah yea moving is such a pain in the butt!
    but on the bright side, you can think of it as a workout session, you’ve even got lots of weight lifting squeezed in there ;-)

    Reply
  6. I feel ya girl. I HATE moving. It’ll feel sooooo good once you’re all moved in though.

    Reply

What are your thoughts?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 74 other followers

