Headaches and Black Bean Corn Veggie Burgers

I’m not sure what it is that’s causing them, but I’ve pretty much gotten a headache every day for the last two weeks or so. Headaches have been an “always” part of my life, so I’ve heard of every way to decrease their incidence, trust me. This time I’ve tried exercising more, sleeping more, eating less sugar, eating more sugar (hey, it was worth a shot), meditating, hydrating, and taking aspirin up the wazoo, but nothing seems to help lately. Maybe it’s the stress of this stupid move.

(It’s not a stupid move. I’m very excited to finally be living full-time with my future husband, etc. etc.)

Feeling sorry for myself this afternoon.

Feeling sorry for myself this afternoon.

And then tonight during dinner, the fire alarm went off (our downstairs neighbor burned some fries). The fire department wasn’t immediately notified–I thought that was a guarantee with alarms?–so we stood outside for 20 minutes listening to the blaring buzz until Angus called the fire department to ask about it. Needless to say, it did not help the headache.

When I got upstairs, dinner was cold.

Black Bean Corn Veggie Burgers

But it was a tasty dinner: Black Bean Corn Veggie Burgers, made with brown rice, served with sharp cheddar cheese and avocado. Yum. And it’s very easy; if I could do it with a pounding behind my eyes, you can do it after work, I promise.

Angus, a meat-lover (with a name like Angus, how could he not be?) said the texture was very similar to a hamburger.

Black Bean Corn Veggie Burgers

Prep/Active Time: 20 minutes

Ingredients

  • 1c black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1/4c cooked brown rice
  • 2 egg whites
  • pinch of salt
  • cumin to taste
  • 1/3c frozen corn kernels, defrosted and drained
  • 2 tsp extra virgin olive oil

1. Throw the beans, rice, egg whites, salt, and cumin into a food processor and process until it’s just a little bit chunky.

2. Mix together with the corn kernels in a separate bowl.

3. Heat the olive oil over medium-low heat in a non-stick pan. Form the bean mixture into four patties and fry until they’re no longer so goopy, about 5 minutes per side.

Do you like my step #3? Look, I have a headache. If you have onion on hand (which I did not), I would recommend throwing half a vidalia onion into the food processor with everything else. I would also recommend eating these which ketchup and a bun (I sadly did not have a bun either. Too headachey to go to the store). The avocado and cheese also added a nice dimension.

In other news (as you can probably tell from the photos!) my dSLR has been unpacked. Hooray! I have been dying a little inside every time I post a food photo here taken with my iphone.

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Your pictures looks amazing! ;)

    I hope you’re feeling better soon–headaches suck. I used to suffer from them all the time, but (knock on wood) over the past couple of years they have really become infrequent (hooray!). Some things that I think effected it: birth control pills and eating less refined sugar. Also, eat ginger!

    Reply
  2. Aww girl I’m so sorry to hear about the headaches! I’ve heard a little bit of espresso as you feel them coming on does wonders. At least, when one of my friends was pregnant that’s what her doctor recommended in lieu of serious pain meds!

    Reply
  3. I’m really sorry to hear about your headaches! My husband used to get them really badly and we always had a huge bottle of Excedrin. Even though you’re super excited about your new living situation, moving is still a stressful thing to endure, so that could be part of it.

    Also, I wouldn’t underestimate the stresses of a new lifestyle (not being in school). Even if there are less demands on your time, it’s still something that you may need to adjust to.

    Big hugs from Pittsburgh! I hope things quiet down soon :)

    Reply
  4. hahahahahaha omg you look too cute feelin’ sorry for yourself, so at least you got that going for you :P. Stress totally gives me horrible headaches and moving is definitely something that causes stress. Soldier through!

    Reply

What are your thoughts?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 72 other followers

