Moving and Praying and Making (Healthy) Tomato and Corn Cobbler

So I’m generally a pretty unlucky person when it comes to random chance games. I think it’s probably because I’m so lucky with respect to the rest of my life; the universe decided I don’t get to win drawings. One time, at a carnival, I guessed the number of candy in a jar within two pieces and I won the whole jar. But my mom had been involved in preparing the candy jar and so all the other kids told me I was a cheater (which I wasn’t!).

But I actually got lucky a few week’s ago; I won Joanne’s contest for a Country Crock Giveaway of  Harvest Pumpkin Tiny Taper HoldersItalian Scalloped Bakers and a 13″ Wire Baker Rack. It was so exciting! They arrived in the mail on Thursday at my New Haven address, the day of The Move. So it felt pretty fate-like. Speaking of The Move, here it is, summarized in two photos:

In which I completely empty my New Haven apartment (left) and dump everything on top of Angus's stuff in Providence (right).

In which I completely empty my New Haven apartment (left) and dump everything on top of Angus’s stuff in Providence (right).

Anyway. It’s been an eventful couple of days, with lots of time spent unpacking and cleaning and crying and praying. There’s been less time for cooking than normal, which means there’s been more time for dreaming. Getting the scalloped baker and wire rack was really exciting; it immediately got me thinking about what kind of meal I could create in it.

The beautiful scalloped dish, fresh out of the oven and cooling in its wired rack.

The beautiful scalloped dish, fresh out of the oven and cooling in its wired rack.

I wanted it to be something savory, something whose flavors could all stew together. It’s been so cold and dreary here in New England, I wanted something that would warm me to my bones, preferably something that involved leaving the oven on for a while (Angus can be a bit of a heat-nazi). Today, the pieces that had been floating around in my head, trying to form a coherent meal, just sort of fell into place, and I knew I had to make a Tomato and Corn Cobbler.

But you all know me. It also had to be healthy. I couldn’t make biscuits with cream and butter and white flour. So the biscuits are relatively low-fats and made entirely with whole wheat flour.

(Healthy) Tomato and Corn Cobbler

(Healthy) Tomato and Corn Cobbler (serves 3, or 2 very hungry people)

Prep Time: 40 minutes

Active Time: 20 minutes

Ingredients

For the Biscuits:

  • 1c whole wheat flour, lightly scooped (120g)
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • pinch salt
  • 2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 3/8c (6 tbsp) skim milk
  • 1/2c grated extra sharp cheddar cheese (40g)

For the Insides:

  • 1 container grape tomatoes (10 oz)
  • 1/2 large vidalia onion, sliced into half rings
  • 2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 1/2c frozen corn kernels, defrosted

1. Caramelize the onions. Heat 2 tbsp olive oil over medium low heat in a large pan and add in the onions. Allow to cook slowly, stirring occasionally, until the onions are a dark caramel color and very fragrant.

2. Meanwhile, prepare the biscuit dough. Combine the flour, baking soda, salt, and cheese; mix well. Forming a well in the center of the dry ingredients, add in the olive oil and milk, stirring well to combine. Do not overmix. Move to the refrigerator until ready to bake.

3. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees. When the onions are a done caramelizing, combine the tomatoes, corn, and onions in a small casserole dish. Try to avoid pouring in the extra olive oil from the onion pan or it’ll get really greasy. Dollop the scone mixture on top of the vegetables in four placements. Bake for about 20 minutes, or until the scones are done (they should be golden brown on top).

(Healthy) Tomato and Corn Cobbler

Fresh from the oven, before being served.

Mmmm I love cobblers. I love cobblers made with cherry tomatoes, in particular. They start to explode in the oven, forming this rich stew-y base with the onions.

(Healthy) Tomato and Corn Cobbler

These aren’t super cheesy, so if you want them cheesier you should double the amount of cheddar. I also wouldn’t get too heavy handed with the oil; it can get pretty greasy pretty fast. But this was quite tasty and really not a whole lot of work. And to be fair, you don’t need a fancy cooling rack and baking dish to make it; any old thing would do, probably. But I certainly don’t think the fancy dish hurt the appeal of the meal :)

Oh, and if you don’t like the taste of olive oil much, I would sub out the olive oil in the biscuits for cold butter. It should be pinched in cold to keep the biscuits flakey. I haven’t done this myself, so I technically can’t vouch for the results, but I’m sure it would still be delicious.

Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. What a fun giveaway to win! The scalloped dish and wire rack are very pretty–they will work perfectly for serving dinner guests. The recipe in this post is so interesting–I’ve never heard of a savory cobbler (I always think peaches or other fruits when I hear cobbler).

    Reply
    • Yep! A cobbler can be sweet or savory as long as it’s topped with a biscuit type thing. I love savory cobblers. I mean, I like sweet ones, too, but having a savory one for dinner in the winter really hits the spot sometimes.

      Reply
  2. that looks absolutely delectable!!

    i’d imagine it to be pretty miserable living in the cold because anything below 40 is FREEZING for this texas gal, but it DOES seem attractive to me how foods like this, or soy lattes/hot chocolates and soups taste especially good in the cold!
    plus the fashion capitals of the world (ie NY, paris, etc.) are all cold places because more layers = more fashionable i guess!

    Reply
  3. That’s awesome that you won that!! It’s gorgeous. Annnnd the meal is gorgeous as well. Simple & delicious (& healthy). You know what I like girl!

    Reply
  4. Sending more hugs from Pittsburgh to you and your friends :(

    I’m glad to see that you have exciting, positive things on your horizon, though! You and Angus will be great roomies :)

    Reply
  5. Kyra (Scribbles & Sprinkles)

     /  December 17, 2012

    That’s such a cute little wire rack! <3

    Reply

What are your thoughts?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 72 other followers

