Happy Days :)

I went down to NYC to stay with my mom for a few days on Thursday. I packed minimally because I knew Angus would be driving down with the rest of my crap, which means I was without my computer (GASP!) for two days. I know. I don’t know how I survived with just my iPad and smart phone and my mom’s computer. It’s like it was the stone ages.

mom time, nails, and kitty cuddles.

mom time, nails, and kitty cuddles.

I had a lot of fun with my mom. We went Christmas shopping and got our nails done and giggled a whole lot. I also got to babysit this little bug yesterday morning:

My niece, Eliza. She wouldn't pose for a photo but INSISTED on seeing the photo afterward.

My niece, Eliza. She wouldn’t pose for a photo but INSISTED on seeing the photo afterward.

She chooses her own outfits, can you tell? I think she’ll be a fashion icon when she’s older.

I’m now in NJ at Angus’s parents’ house. They have a farm here, so we always get to have farm fresh eggs when we visit. I guess the little chickies are just starting to lay their first ever eggs, so they’re super small with an unusually rich yolk; it was such a treat. We fried them with some very crispy and salty hashbrown cubes.

Eggs and Hashbrowns

I mean…at least I’m eating whole foods right? Right???

Anyway, I just wanted to take a moment and wish everyone a happy non-end of the world and very happy holidays. My mom and I had a discussion over saying happy holidays vs. merry christmas. I was very firmly in the happy holidays camp, mostly because I feel like this is a holiday season more than just a particular day of celebration, regardless of one’s religious affiliation.

I wish I were one of those people who could give “tips” on how to keep living healthily during the month of December, but I’m not, mostly because I fail to follow them. I’m just enjoying myself and trying to be restful. I hope you all are taking care of yourselves, too.

Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. LOVE the nail color. Mine are the same right now! It’s so festive, I can’t get enough!

    Yay for no more tips. It’s the holidays!!! I cannot wait to get my hands on my Mom’s homemade cookies, appetizers, and Christmas dinner. :)

    Reply
  2. Vamp Christine

     /  December 22, 2012

    I would say, Yummy Holidays to you. For many reasons, 2012 has been a topsy-turvy year but I am exceediingly thankful for one special thing…..that you began your whimsical, wonderful, smart blog, regardless of how many times it comes to us. Can’t wait to see you on the 6th where there will be a lot of treats so start exercising. xxxooo (What super photos…love the red.)

    Reply
  3. Sounds like a blast! Mom time is always the best. Glad to see you looking happy :D

    Reply
  4. that nail color is GORGEOUS!
    hahhaa eliza is absolutely adorable!
    and that’s TOTALLY AWESOME that your fiance has a farm!!! does it include a ranch?
    texans are all about having drunk old times on a ranch- young and old alike!

    Reply
  5. Enjoy the time with your family :)
    Wow Angus’ parents have a farm! That’s so cool. I wonder if free range chicken eggs taste any different from the conventional ones?

    Reply
  6. I’m so glad to hear you’re having a happy holiday! And yeah, I’ve given up on being healthy this month. But, at the risk of being cliche, January I’m getting back on track!

    Reply
  7. Kailey

     /  December 30, 2012

    Oh gosh I am the same way during the holidays – I am much much more relaxed in terms of running and eating habbits, but it only comes around once a year ;)

    Reply
  8. “I was very firmly in the happy holidays camp, mostly because I feel like this is a holiday season more than just a particular day of celebration, regardless of one’s religious affiliation.”

    I’m also very much in the “Happy Holidays” camp – you don’t know who celebrates Christmas and who celebrates something else!

    Reply

What are your thoughts?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 72 other followers

