Resolutions and Moving Forward

Do you know what today is? I mean, APART from the first day of 2013 (Happy New Year everyone, by the way).

Today is the first day I have not been a student in over 20 years.

Let’s just take a moment for that to sink in, yes?

20 years of always being affiliated with a school, of being enrolled, of learning and learning and studying and testing and moving forward. And now I am so blessedly not. So I think that’s my new year’s resolution numero uno: relish every day in this freedom from academia that I chose.

Aaaaah sweet sweet freedom.

Wooo dance party celebration. Please ignore the fact that I’m hula hooping in this picture and that I’m also blonde and that it is clearly four years old and was taken by my friend Anne not me. Look I didn’t want this post to be only text okay?

I’ve been thinking about other resolutions, too. At the risk of being clichéd, some are health and fitness related. I’d like to start strength training more (which is to say, start strength training at all). I also want to re-evaluate my relationship with desserts (once again) and try to cut back on them when we go out to eat. As far as non-health-related resolutions go, I will also try to take time every day to be grateful, for my life, my happiness, my luck.

I did not post much these past two weeks because Angus and I were busy visiting our parents and–can you believe?–I didn’t open my computer once the entire time we were away. But a few exciting developments happened. I received (and accepted) a job offer (I start at the end of this month, but I think it’s probably best I don’t share any other details about it on my blog) and Angus and I booked a trip to Argentina (we leave on Saturday (!)). It really is a time of change all of a sudden.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

11 Comments

  1. Whoa! Leaving for Argentina on Saturday?!? For how long? That’s going to be AMAZING. I can’t wait to hear all about it! Congrats on no longer being a student, and for excepting a job! Yay! Great things to come in 2013, I’d say!

    Reply
  2. Congrats on the job!! I didn’t think that the holidays and finals were going to be very busy for me, but I have been blog MIA for a while.. oh well… life happens :) As for the job… is it in RI? I won’t pry otherwise.. just curious (since I’ll be job hunting in about 4 months)

    Reply
  3. Congrats on the job Jenica!!! Seriously that’s awesome. And I hope you have a fantastic trip.

    Reply
  4. Oh wow congratz with getting a new job! Being still in school I can’t ever imagine not being part of academia. Must be a big change but I guess we all have to go through it at one point. Happy holidays and best of luck with your resolutions ;)

    Reply
  5. i feel so special knowing about the job early ;)
    are you excited about dressing like a REAL adult in business casual clothes? i personally find that quite exciting! well, any excuse to update the wardrobe is exciting for me :p

    WOWZA argentina would be SO EXCITING!!!! sounds like the perfect way to ring in a new year :) YOU MUST BLOG ABOUT IT DURING THE TRIP! have a fantastic time and happy new year!

    Reply
  6. CONGRATULATIONS!!!

    Your goals are super familiar. I’m constantly re-evaluating my relationship with sweets and desserts. Hopefully 2013 will bring us both some peace.

    I hope you’re having a wonderful time in Argentina! I can’t wait to read about it!

    Reply
  7. You could definitely see your expertise in the work you write.

    The arena hopes for even more passionate writers like you who are not afraid to mention how they believe.

    Always go after your heart.

    Reply

What are your thoughts?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 72 other followers

