Intervals and Vegetables

In Providence, there are no legal requirements about shoveling snow off of sidewalks, so even though streets get paved quickly, individual home owners must shovel the walks in front of the houses. Some landlords are decent humans and own an entire block, so those blocks get shoveled really nicely. Others are run by what can only be called slumlords, and those barely get  half-assed shoveled, which turns into thick sheets of ice. And sometimes people are d-bags and don’t shovel in between their house and their neighbors’, so you get a foot of snow in the middle of a block.

This isn’t a photo of Providence, but imagine a street this erratically paved interspersed with sheets of ice and huge piles of snow. (source)

Anyway, the point of all of this is to say that it really sucks to try to run in Providence if there is snow on the ground. Since one of my new year’s resolutions is to build muscle, I’m trying to add interval training (which I absolutely LOATHE) in addition to strength training to my workouts. It’s not really feasible to do sprints outside right now, so I’m actually going to do something I never thought I would do and join a GYM. *shudder*
I just had my first treadmill interval workout tonight (1 minute sprint on a high incline, 2 minutes jog on a lower incline, repeat five times). Man oh man, fifteen minutes of one of the easiest interval workouts totally kicked my butt. I guess it’s for the best; it means I’m challenging my muscles, right?

I’ve also been trying to eat lots of fruits and veggies lately. My pal Chauncey was telling me about these kind of vitamin supplements she takes that are made from whole fruits and veggies, so they have the phytonutrients in addition to the standard vitamins and minerals. I’m not sure if I totally believe the “science” behind it, but hearing her try to convert me really reminded me how important it is to basically eat vegetables non-stop all day. So for dinner tonight Angus and I made scallops with spinach and mushrooms.

Sometimes I wish I didn't know how healthy spinach was for me. Leafy greens are not my favorite to eat.

Sometimes I wish I didn’t know how healthy spinach was for me. Leafy greens are not my favorite to eat.

We (and by “we,” I mean Angus) sautéed those beautiful mushrooms in a half and half mixture of coconut oil and butter. The greens and ‘shrooms were dressed with wee bit of balsamic vinegar before being topped with scallops, which he just seared with cooking oil spray

Artichokes were also served on the side, which I dipped in the extra balsamic:

Artichoke

Overall, a very healthy and yum meal. Well, healthy if you ignore the butter used for the mushrooms, which I am :)

Leave a comment

13 Comments

  1. Haha! I remember snow always being a problem when I lived in the student neighborhood. Not fun when you have 8:30 classes everyday -.-

    Having a science background, I love to actually pubmed some of these nutrients/ vitamins or health foods. I feel like some of these things are so hyper up and don’t have that much evidence behind them.

    Reply
  2. Vesta

     /  January 3, 2013

    Omg those mushrooms look AMAZING. Did the coconut oil affect the flavor? And the scallops look divine. Way to go Angus!

    Reply
  3. I am oddly jealous of your dinner. I loooove scallops. Seriously looks soooo tasty. And hey, just a bit of butter doesn’t count right? ;)

    Reply
  4. Toss that spinach into a smoothie, and you’ll never know!!! ;)

    That dinner looks simply gourmet! Wow. Scallops and sauteed mushrooms . . . I’m drooling.

    Running intervals can be deceptively challenging. They kick my butt all the time! Nice work!

    Reply
  5. ugh intervals are the WORST! or IMO any sort of speed training as a matter of fact.
    since you can build muscle by one of two ways – weights, speed, or hills for legs- i much prefer hills! so much less miserable for me…

    that salad looks absolutely DELECTABLE! and the photography is excellent, too! looks like something from a food mag :)

    Reply
  6. Good for you for doing interval training! I refuse to do it unless forced. I’d even rather do hills than intervals!!

    I do, however, go to a gym mostly for the classes. They are the easiest way to get strength training into my workouts.

    Reply
  7. Angus is such a whiz in the kitchen! What a keeper!

    Also, Pittsburghers are dicks about shoveling their sidewalks, too. When I was running outside, I would go to the really fancy part of town, which usually fared better. bah!

    Reply
  8. Anna

     /  January 9, 2013

    Hi Jenica! I just found myself wondering today what you have been up to of late. I approve of the interval training…and wouldn’t you believe it I am also planning to incorporate more of these to ease out of my routine of “steady” runs to get faster again for the spring ;)
    Also congrats on the job offer! I wouldn’t be surprised if the job involved a lot of writing or perhaps public relations. Happy New Year!

    Reply
  9. Ha ha ha…I used to live in Providence and know exactly what you mean. =)

    This looks delicious…I looooove spinach, so you’ve got me on all fronts!

    Reply

What are your thoughts?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 72 other followers

