Summer in January

 
Hello everyone! I missed you all while I was in Argentina with Angus. What an amazing place to go.

Buenos Aires is an absolutely beautiful city. Architecturally, it really reminds me of parts of NYC, particularly the Upper East Side. What’s really different is that there’s greenery EVERYWHERE; the trees are closely spaced together and they grow as tall as some the buildings. Even though it was midsummer there and often over 90 degrees (F), the streets were so shady that it was comfortable.

So many trees amongst the buildings!

So many trees amongst the buildings!

Speaking of it being midsummer, I really can’t overemphasize how AMAZING it was to have access to seasonal, fresh produce I normally only eat in July/August. I had fresh fruit every morning for breakfast and tomatoes every day with either lunch or dinner.

Breakfast every day

Breakfast every day

There were a few major cultural differences that I hadn’t expected to be as difficult as they were. Argentinians eat dinner WAY later than Americans; we usually went to restaurants around nine and were invariably the first people there. We never really figured out how to not be too famished or too full before dinner.

The men there were also much more aggressive about hitting on me. The guide book had warned about this, but I didn’t think I’d care; I grew up in NYC, after all, The Land of Catcalling. But it actually got to the point where we would avoid streets with too many men. The leering really bothered Angus.

Not so jealous here though. This was in a very touristy Japanese garden. We definitely felt most comfortable taking photos when we were surrounded by other tourists.

Not so jealous here though. This was in a very touristy Japanese garden. We definitely felt most comfortable taking photos when we were surrounded by other tourists.

Overall, it was an amazing trip. We walked a lot–probably about 6 miles every day, exploring the city–but we also rested a lot, reading books and enjoying the summer. It was my perfect kind of vacation/trip; there was enough exploring to keep it interesting, but not so much that I didn’t feel rested afterward. I was very sad to leave, but the ache was mitigated by the fact that we flew business class home (thank you rewards programs!).

Don't mind me, just looking like a crack addict.

Don’t mind me, just looking like a deranged crack addict.

It was my first time every flying business class and it was actually one of the most exciting thing to happen in my life. I told Angus it rivaled getting proposed to (which he was not impressed by).

Okay, this post is getting on the lengthy side, so I’ll have to update you all at some other point on the whole healthy-living thing (which this blog is supposed to be about!). I will say though that it’s rather strange to go from midsummer to New England winter overnight!

Oh, good morning snow storm.

Oh, good morning snow storm.

Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. omg . . . I wouldn’t be able to handle eating so late!!! That’s crazy!

    Reply
  2. I want to say “you don’t look like a deranged crack addict,” but… I can’t. ;-)

    Glad you had fun! I’m so cold at this exact moment- if I didn’t promise to go to Boston Friday, I’d hop on a plane right now!

    Reply
  3. Argentina looks beautiful and sounds like an amazing break from “winter”. Yeah… when I was in Mexico there was A LOT of fresh fruits and veggies. Purely amazing!

    Wow how do they hold themselves over until 9pm for dinner. I guess once you follow that cycle you kind of get used to it…

    Reply
  4. “I told Angus it rivaled getting proposed to (which he was not impressed by).”
    bahahahahaha!

    Also, the catcalling, yes. I experienced that a little bit in Mexico City, too. Before we left, I read lots of message boards/blog posts/etc warning women to dress VERY conservatively (pants or long skirts, high collar shirts). When we were there, though, I saw a lot of women wearing whatever they wanted.

    Poor Angus :(

    Reply
  5. welcome back! i’m glad you had a great time :D you’ve got to show us more pictures!!

    when i lived in SF during my interim yr between college/med school- what i LOVED is that you can find shops with fresh fruit EVERYWHERE! directly on my way to work, i could just pick up some fresh fruit for lunch- it was wonderful!

    how was the food there? though perhaps unauthentic, i’ve LOVEDD!!! all my experiences with argentinian food in the U.S.!!

    Reply
  6. Aww I’m so glad you had so much fun!!!

    UGH to the catcalling. It’s awful here. And it puts me in such a bad mood when I have to look at the men in disgust and/or pretend to gag as I walk by them.

    Reply
  7. SO JEALOUS!!

    The fruit looks amazing, and I love greenery in a city. NOT jealous of the catcalling, but it’s so interesting to read about! Welcome home. =)

    Reply
  8. This sounds like MY kind of vacation! I’m so glad you had a blast full of walking AND relaxation. It’s all about the balance– right?

    Reply

What are your thoughts?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 74 other followers

